Historical Background

During the 1993/94 academic session, the Department of Philosophy was carved out from the Department of Religions and Philosophy. But due to the University financial constraints both departments remained together administratively. The pioneer lecturers were Mr. Maduabuchi Dukor, Mr. G.E. Azenabor and Mr. Sunday O. Oke.

The Department became autonomous during the 1994/95 academic session. Dr. R.A. Akanmidu, who came on a sabbatical leave from the University of Ilorin, was appointed as the first Head of Department. Dr. Wale Olajide Ojo joined the service of the University in 1995 as a part-time lecturer in the Department and later had his appointment normalized.

At its initial establishment in 1993/94 academic session, the Department started with two (2) direct entry students and twenty four (24) University matriculated students. In 1995/96 academic session, Dr. Akanmidu returned to University of Ilorin and Dr. Maduabuchi Dukor became the Head of Department. At the end of 1996/97 session, Mr. Azenabor resigned his appointment. Just then, Dr. Segun Ogungbemi, who came from Moi University, Eldoret, Kenya, was appointed visiting Associate Professor in the Department.  During the 1997/98 session, he was appointed the Head of the Department.


Between 2000 and 2005, Prof. S. B. Oluwole, who was on contract appointment, was appointed the Head of Department. In 2012/2013 session, the Department under the Headship of Prof. A.G.A. Bello revised its B.A. degree programme. Prof. Princewill Alozie was appointed the Head of the Department in 2014. Presently, work is also under way on the M.A. and PhD degree programmes. Prof. A.G.A. Bello retired in 2013 and Prof. Princewill Alozie became the Head of Department in 2014 till date.

The Department has a very active branch of the National Association of Philosophy Students (NAPS). The association has among other things produced its own philosophy magazine and organized seminars where lecturers within and outside the Department presented interesting scholarly papers.